Making Democracy Work

2017 Charleston Area Elections

Election Information for Local Cities

Updated as Information Becomes Available
MunicipalityElection DateFiling DatesFile At
Awendaw7-NovAug 21-Sept 1Town
Charleston7-NovAug 7-Aug 21McNair Law Firm
Hollywood6-JunMar 6-April 6Town
Isle of Palms7-NovTown
McClellanville7-NovAug 1-Aug 15Town
Mt. Pleasant7-NovAug 14-Aug 25County
Ravenel7-NovAug 14-Aug 25Town
Seabrook Island7-NovAug 7-Sept 8Town
Sullivan's Island2-MayJan 11-Feb 16Town

Sullivan's Island Municipal Elections, May 2, 2017

Candidates answer key questions

Sample Ballot


MayorPatrick O'Neil (unopposed)
CouncilChauncey Clark (Incumbent)
CouncilGreg Hammond
CouncilSusan Middaugh (Incumbent)
CouncilTim Reese
CouncilElizabeth Siegling
CouncilSara Church (write-in)
Polls will open at 7 a.m. on Tuesday, May 2 and close at 7 p.m. The polling place for this district is Sunrise Presbyterian Church at 3222 Middle Street